The View from Hell

Just another WordPress.com site

Polite Conversation about Children

with 3 comments

A commenter “Elle” on a blog called ginandtacos points out that, while it’s socially acceptable to inquire into someone’s reasons for NOT having children, many of the likely reasons are not polite to mention, such as:

3. I’ve had four miscarriages, and I feel like my heart is breaking in my chest when I think about having another one.
4. My partner and I are both Tay-Sachs carriers, and the risks seem too great.
5. When you had a child you became so boring and self-involved that I shudder to imagine that happening to me.
6. I don’t know how I could have a child and keep them safe from their grandpa, without moving away.

I would also note that it is NOT socially acceptable to inquire into someone’s reasons for HAVING children (found that one out the hard way).

Written by Sister Y

July 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Socially speaking, this blog is very bad-mannered.

    Modern Man

    July 19, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  2. True – I think a different set of norms applies to blogs.

    Sister Y

    July 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

  3. > I would also note that it is NOT socially acceptable
    > to inquire into someone's reasons for HAVING children

    That should not come as a surprise, because:

    1) most people who have kids didn't really think
    about the reasons

    2) most of these reasons are stupid and/or selfish

    So if you ask somebody about it there is a high
    chance that they either have to admit that they
    are dumb enough to not think about such a serious
    matter beforehand or that they are selfish enough
    to ignore the problems that they cause or risk by
    having kids. Obviously bringing people into such
    a situation is not the best way to make friends.

    All the best,
    rob

    rob

    November 26, 2010 at 4:13 pm


Leave a Reply

